Blinds.com Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Blinds.com
Shop Light Filtering or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Blinds.com.

Hunter Douglas Duette G1 - 3/8" Triple Cell

Last Chance to buy Hunter Douglas online � Discontinued May 31, 2010. Buy today and save $!Triple-celled Duettes shades from Hunter Douglas give the most energy protection you can get from a cellular window shade. They allow light to filter in, but are extremely efficient at blocking heat and cold from coming into your home.They're backed by white for a uniform window coverings appearance on the front of your home. An occasional vacuuming is all that's needed to keep these window shades looking fresh. Duette's soft, flexible nature allows the shades to stack compactly when raised, so they virtually disappear. A host of extremely popular lifting options provides added safety and convenience, as well as ease of use. Check out the Bottom-Up/Top-Down, EasyRise, and Duette PowerRise (motorized) features. Duette cellular shades are backed by a limited lifetime warranty.Did you know that Duette shades with three layers of honeycomb cells have a very high insulating R-value (resistance to heat flow) of 4.8, more than doubling the energy efficiency of a double-glazed window and nearly quadrupling the efficiency of a single pane of glass? They are one of the most energy-efficient insulated window fashions on the market.Color shown in picture is Bisque G1-989.
Average Customer Rating:
4.826 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 of 23(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Duette G1 - 3/8" Triple Cell
Review 1 for Duette G1 - 3/8" Triple Cell
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Triple Cell Shades,
Date:November 8, 2009
By Juranti
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I was reluctant to order some pretty pricey blinds without really knowing how hard they would be to install. Turned out to be a piece of cake! I love not having cords laying all over the floor. The ratcheting mechanism to raise and lower the shades seems a bit unnatural at first but once you use them a few times, you wonder why all blinds are not configured this way. Not only looks neater but certainly safer for children or adults not paying attention to where they are walking.
I plan to purchase additional units for other large windows."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Duette G1 - 3/8" Triple Cell
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just In,
Date:October 27, 2009
By Sloth
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Looks great, installation was a bit awkward, but only b/c the blind is 155" wide and apparently I can no longer subtract and divide in my head. Good thing I don't do this for a living.
Hopefully the blind insulates as well as advertised; as you can see its a big window and we live in Central Maine. We loose a lot of heat through this window, even though it is a top quality Andersen."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Duette G1 - 3/8" Triple Cell
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Impressed,
Date:October 7, 2009
By Grace
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm very happy with these blinds. I ordered two, one for the dining room and one for the living room, and both were very wide (over 100 inches). I also ordered the easy riser feature. They fit perfectly, they look great, and they are very easy to use. I was worried that they might be too thick at the top when they are raised, but they look trim and nice. I also like the triple cell feature... we live in a snow and cold zone, and already I can see that they're going to give us good additional insulation around these windows. And the color is perfect... I ordered the samples first and was able to get exactly the right color."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Duette G1 - 3/8" Triple Cell
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Operation of blinds,
Date:March 9, 2009
By Bobandkay
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Everything is excellent about the blinds. If I could offer one idea for improving their use it would be to somehow figure out what to do with the long cords when blinds are up (or down, as is the case with the top-down blinds). If possible, I would have retractable cords, like a vacuum, but then, that might be too costly for people to buy."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Duette G1 - 3/8" Triple Cell
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy Experience!,
Date:May 22, 2008
By AuntiJo
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The best product, the best customer service. Quality is great. Would highly recommend."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Duette G1 - 3/8" Triple Cell
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Too easy,
Date:December 8, 2007
By jameslb
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Glad we went with the Triple cell; as hoped it really blocks out the hot sun during the summer months but also does a great job keeping the cold out during the winter months. You can literally feel this when opening closing the shade. Blinds.com was good to work with and came at a good price."
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Duette G1 - 3/8" Triple Cell
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super Shade,
Date:October 18, 2007
By sneakersmastin
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Super shade, easy to install. Very energy efficient. Great looking too."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Duette G1 - 3/8" Triple Cell
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
highly recommended,
Date:April 27, 2007
By albany
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had purchased triple cell for 7 windows that are all along the same wall in my house-for a family room, for a sliding patio door(two on one headrail), for two side windows and for a window above kitchen sink. It was a very pricey purchase. It took me a long time to make that decision. I had people coming over from JC PENNY and other businesses to give me estimates. I also checked out prices at Lowes and Home Depot. I read about different features of HUNTER douglas products and
compared prices on line. I was very uncomfortable placing such a big order online but the difference in price was a crucial factor compare to ordering through a regular store. After reading positive comments about BLINDS.COM , I finally placed an order. It was shipped within a few days after I placed it. A professional installer put those up. Our family likes it a lot. They are easy to operate(easy rise).
I don't agree with the sound absorption feature which we were hoping will really work based on the claim. That seems to be only a gimmick. Will test their
energy efficient feature when its going to get warm outside.
overall, they look great. Make sure you order a color sample. Easy to operate, easy to remove stains from
"
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Duette G1 - 3/8" Triple Cell
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Attractive - and warm!,
Date:December 15, 2006
By lngr
from N. Lake Tahoe, CA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Our stairwell has a second-floor window that is completely under snow in the winter - as in the outside picture. We needed some insulation! We're still in the process of remodeling but we've installed the Duette. Not only is it warmer, but the window covering looks good and in the summer - when the window is actually visible - we have more privacy."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Duette G1 - 3/8" Triple Cell
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Duette's with Powerrise,
Date:December 5, 2006
By JimTheHandyHomeowner
from Ann Arbor, MI
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I like the look, but there are a few caveats:
Battery life is OK, but if the batteries get weak, change them right away. When the battery can't pull the shades all the way up, the motors get confused and think that the top is somewhere mid-way up the window.
Accessing the inside to change the batteries is an iffy proposition -- the tubes holding the batteries tend to come flying out, sometimes with parts of the clips torn out. If this happens, a warranty repair is required -- that took a couple weeks.
The remote control is a bit finicky -- I find I must repeatedly aim at the little IR window to get the shade to move. Some shades are pickier than others."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Duette G1 - 3/8" Triple Cell
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2006
By Kathy01
from Wyoming
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great insulation and filtering of natural light. Installation is relatively simple, but it is easy to wrinkle the fabric at the top."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Duette G1 - 3/8" Triple Cell
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2006
By LRF1
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Duette G1 - 3/8" Triple Cell
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2006
By Edwd
from Chicagoland
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"not alot of detail in the installation directions.
Blind pull strings less desirable than ones I have on dealer instaled blinds
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Duette G1 - 3/8" Triple Cell
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Triple Cell,
Date:November 15, 2006
By Napie
from waterloo, IA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I really like the energy efficiency that the new triple cell blinds have provided. I live in an old house and even though I added new windows I could still notice that a lot of cold came in. With the addition of the triple cells, I feel that the room remains much warmer.
the shades also have added a lot of life to the room. I replaced some old drapes that I never really liked with these shades and it seems to have livend up the room.
I did have an issue with one of the shades coming in slightly shorter than I needed but the people at blinds.com were very helpful and got me a new shade in a very short time.
I am in the process of updating a couple of more rooms and plan to get some additional shades and Blinds.com will be the first place I check to see if they have what I need.
Thanks for all your help."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Duette G1 - 3/8" Triple Cell
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Impressed,
Date:November 14, 2006
By WYMIKE
from Cheyenne, WY
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I use to install drapes years ago. These blinds were easy to install and required no adjustments. The triple cells provide excellent insulation for the cold winds in Wyoming."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Duette G1 - 3/8" Triple Cell
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Extremely satisfied customer!,
Date:November 14, 2006
By LazyCats
from Muttontown, NY
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had honeycombs from Hunter Douglas in my previous house and loved it. So when I moved in to my new home with bare windows, I instantly knew I wanted honeycombs from Hunter Douglas again. Blinds.com offered the best price. I also love the fact that Blinds.com sends samples for free (up to 10).
The blinds arrived promptly and was very easy to install (you don't need an engineering degree to install them). I installed them myself without the help of dear hubby. Hunter Douglas sure made it easy for us.
Overall I am very happy with my purchase. The blinds are top notch quality. It really blocked out a lot of the summer heat. Now that we are approaching winter, I am sure it'll keep my house more insulated. Highly recommend. Well worth the money!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Duette G1 - 3/8" Triple Cell
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2006
By Anonymous
"We were most happy with our experience with Blinds.com. I saved approximately $500 off the Costco price for the exact same blinds (Hunter Douglas)!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Duette G1 - 3/8" Triple Cell
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2006
By Anonymous
from Rathdrum, ID
"I like the blinds that I ordered from Blinds.com. My Son-in-law installed them for me and I like the way that it does keep a lot of the cold air and they look nice too. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Duette G1 - 3/8" Triple Cell
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2005
By Anonymous
from Watertown, WI
"I was totally satisfied with my order. I saved $900.00 by purchasing with Blinds.com instead of in a store locally. Thank you. The product came quickly and the fit was perfect. My husband installed 6 blinds in 75 minutes!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Duette G1 - 3/8" Triple Cell
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 4 out of 4
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5