Blinds.com Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Blinds.com.

Hunter Douglas Satinwood Plantation Shutters

Last Chance to buy Hunter Douglas online � Discontinued May 31, 2010. Buy today and save $!New LOWER PRICESIf you have ordered these shutters prior to December 2009 and need to match, please call our center to check stock availability. Satinwood shutters are made of specially formulated ultraviolet resistant poly-satin compounds, and are guaranteed never to warp, fade, chip or peel, regardless of high heat or other extreme climate conditions. Offered in four popular colors: Bright White, White, Silk White and Linen. These satinwood vinyl plantation shutters are designed for quick installation and easy care. Made for us by Hunter Douglas, these high quality window shutters come with features not available by others, such as the No-Magnet Lock System, which is now standard. The entire shutter is reinforced throughout with aluminum frames for added stability. They come standard with simple but tasteful frames for a beautiful finished look. The elliptical shaped louvers provide less obstructed view between the louvers. You'll get the ability to adjust the tension of the louvers so they don't flop down. Or you can tighten them to prevent curious cats or children from opening them. Available in inside (L-Frame or Z-frame; see gallery for image of Z-Frame) or outside mount, 2-1/2", 3-1/2", or 4 1/2" louvers. Highly resistant to moisture and damage, use them in your bathroom, kids' room, or anywhere pets are especially active. Most come to you fully assembled, with all mounting hardware and easy-to-follow installation instructions; so these shutters are easy to install. Hunter Douglas quality with a Lifetime Limited Warranty. Up to 40% less expensive than custom-sized wood shutters. Custom-made in approximately 15 business days. Easy to install. Use ordinary household tools. Most come to you fully assembled. Low maintenance; never requires painting. Resists moisture; easy to clean with just soap and water. Will not fade, crack, peel, or warp. Color shown in picture is White 137.Just read below (you can also use the bulleted links above to the right). Then when you're ready, press the "Customize & Purchase " button. How to OrderNeed Help?  Choose color: White, Silk White, or Ivory; normally it's best to match the trim or sill color.Choose louver size:       2 1/2" or 3 1/2" The 2 1/2" size is more traditional, and better-suited for Colonial and Victorian styled homes. The 3 1/2" size is more contemporary, but is perfectly fine in traditional homes. The larger the window, the more likely the 3 1/2" size is scaled better. But it is usually best NOT to mix sizes within your home. Determine the configuration: Determine if your window sill protrudes: For each of your windows see if you have a window sill that protrudes out into the room. This will determine how your shutter's frame is designed.       Determine your window depth & mount: Window Depth Measure from the front edge of your drywall or front edge of trim surrounding your window opening back to the first obstruction. This could be a handcrank, security device, ledge, or the window itself. Note whether this distance is 1½" or more. If so, you can select an Inside Mount. Mount Decide whether you want the shutter to mount recessed within your window opening, known as an "Inside Mount", OR outside the window opening on the trim (if any) or directly on the wall, known as an "Outside Mount". An Outside Mount is recommended for windows that are not perfectly square, as Outside Mount shutters are more forgiving. Also keep in mind that if you have less than 1 3/8;" of depth in the previous step it must be an Outside Mount. Measure your windows (width & height): Available for rectangular and square windows only(specialty shapes such as arch/angle tops not available). Cafe shutters, sometimes called "half shutters" can also be made for you. They normally cover the bottom half of your window, but can be made at any height. Please specify the height of the cafe shutter, NOT the window height. Determine if you need/want a divider rail: Divider rails add strength to your shutters, and allow you to operate the top louvers independently from the bottom louvers. The most common placement of a divider rail is in the exact center of the panel.Panels between 60" and 90" long require 1 divider railPanels over 90" long require 2 divider railsMinimum distance from divider rail to top or bottom rail is 20" Money saving tip: Each shutter order incurs a $70 oversize fee, so save money by ordering all your shutters at one time!
Average Customer Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
23 of 26(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Satinwood Plantation Shutters
Review 1 for Satinwood Plantation Shutters
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Horrible, they're going back,
Date:February 22, 2010
By happyinaz
from AZ
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" They are poor quality, full of scuffs and scratches. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Satinwood Plantation Shutters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Shutters Around!,
Date:December 29, 2009
By Here2TellU
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The Hunter Douglas Satinwood Plantation Shutters are absolutely the best!
Great Quality. Great Look...and shockingly simple to install.
I was concerned that the installation would be difficult, but I was very pleasantly surprised. Everything was already taken care of. Just snap the frame together, screw it into the window casing (inside mount) and hang the shutters.
Our large shutters were installed in about 20 minutes each....And the price was incredible. Each window was $1,500.00 less than what we were quoted locally (which included installation.)...And the quality didn't even come close!
We're going to do the last two remaining windows in Hunter Douglas Satinwood Plantation Shutters very, very soon! "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Satinwood Plantation Shutters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cool Cafe Shutters,
Date:October 6, 2009
By DeborahMac
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy to install - clean modern appearance. Sun and cat resistant! Great product & service! "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Satinwood Plantation Shutters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice,
Date:September 25, 2009
By SteveS
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent product. About 25% cheaper here than competitors. Looks beautiful. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Satinwood Plantation Shutters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good prices, great customer service,
Date:September 1, 2008
By judyk
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I purchased Hunter Douglas Plantation Shutters and am very pleased with them. I also found the ordering process problem free and experienced excellent post-sale customer service. My shutters were damaged upon arrival and blinds.com quickly resolved my issues. Thanks. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Satinwood Plantation Shutters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome purchase,
Date:May 18, 2008
By JDOH
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I was skeptical at first but the blinds.com website helped me decide what I needed. The blind build page was excellent in helping put together the shutters for my kitchen. I opted for the Hunter Douglas Satinwood Plantation Shutters for the 3 windows. One window was slightly different from the other two which prompted a verification call from blinds.com (great customer service). Everything was delivered to my door in ~ 3 weeks. "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Satinwood Plantation Shutters
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Impressed!,
Date:March 12, 2008
By California
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Just installed two sets of shutters in a master bathroom and they look great! The directions that came with the Hunter Douglas Satinwood shutters are a little vague, but I got each set up in about an hour by myself. Would have been easier as a two person operation. While they don't have the look of real wood, they are still well constructed and will perform well in the high humidity of the bathroom. I would recommend these to a friend in a minute! "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Satinwood Plantation Shutters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
luv my shutters,
Date:November 19, 2007
By ShutterBug
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I couldn't wait to get my shutters and once the came they were up within minutes. They look beautiful and make my home looks so warm and inviting. They're a cinch to clean too. Thank you blinds.com! "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Satinwood Plantation Shutters
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not What I Expected,
Date:July 24, 2007
By Opus
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" I purchased these shutters to provide a better look for my home office and am not impressed with them. The material is very flimsy (i.e. cheap vinyl) and it is really hard to close the shutter after you open it. The 2.5 inch screws were not long enough to do the job (they give you about 0.5 inches of screw into the wall and I ended up having to go buy some 3 inch screws to use instead. The shutters also reduce the light much more than I ever expected. My home office doesn't have a lamp in it because it is normally so bright and airy and now I have had to install a lamp. I will probably end up removing these shutters and selling them to someone else in my condo community. Definitely not the kind of quality I would expect from Hunter Douglas. "
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Satinwood Plantation Shutters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,
Date:February 16, 2007
By LizM
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" We really love them. It took my husband 15 minutes per window to install them. The direct mount was the way to go for us. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Satinwood Plantation Shutters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful Blinds,
Date:December 5, 2006
By gotts258
from gallatin,TN
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" blinds.com could not have made it any easier. from the measuring process to the installation. these blinds are fabulous. thanks "
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Satinwood Plantation Shutters
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product overall,
Date:November 29, 2006
By Martita6
from Plymouth, MA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Overall a good product - looks great in my master bathroom and many people visiting our house have been surprised that these blinds are vinyl but look like wood.
My only complaints are as follows:
1. One of the sections of my blinds is 'loose' so that the shutter slats do not stay open unless they are tilted upwards; if tilted downward, the slat closes completely. The other sections can be adjusted upwards or downwards without issue. By the time I realized that one section was defective, the blinds were already installed and we decided it was too much of a hassle to deinstall and ship back to the manufacturer. Wish Hunter Douglas had done some better QC of the item before shipping the blinds to us.
2. Installation is not that easy to do yourself although we did finally succeed in getting the shutters in. Some of the directions were confusing/vague and some of the screws provided were too short. "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Satinwood Plantation Shutters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2006
By stephnixon
from Philadelphia, PA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Several months ago I purchased the Satin Wood Plantation Shutters. They are used daily and routinely for opening and closing, revealing and blocking sunlight. While Hunter Douglass representatives may advise otherwise, I have found that the handle bar should be used for opening and closing ease. Using the individual blind slat may cause the individual blind to become unsecured from its fixture. If the slat becomes dislodged, they are easy to put back into place.
The most difficult aspect on installing the shutters is tyring to adjust them properly and making sure they are evenly secured so that one is not longer than the other, or that they are able to close properly.
For the most part we are satisfied with the look, material and function of the blinds. "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Satinwood Plantation Shutters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful and Practical!!,
Date:November 14, 2006
By qt4sythe
from West Palm Beach, FL
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" We absolutely LOVE our satinwood plantation shutters. They were fairly easy to install and fit perfectly on all our windows. They make the whole house, from both inside and outside, look very rich and expensive. They are so easy to clean (I use a swiffer duster) and they never fade or turn colors. Blinds.com was awesome to deal with, from taking my order, to delivery, and follow-up. I liked how they sent me a free sample of the shutter so I could see and feel the product prior to ordering. It was definitely one of the best purchases, and investments, that we've made for our home. "
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Satinwood Plantation Shutters
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality,
Date:October 22, 2006
By garland
from Nassau, Bahamas
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Installation: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" I was somewhat disappointed with the look of the Vinyl shutters. I am going to try another room using your best wood shutters and see how the compare. The Satinwood look like plastic and lothing like wood and i am not impressed with the way they operate. The plastic catch for the spring loaded latch was out of line to a point just off center so several of the shutters needed new holes drilled leaving ugly holes. I was also hoping the bifold blinds were on a track so when the opened they slid back and not just flopped open moving away from the frame. Guess that is why they were so much cheaper than the local blind companies. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Satinwood Plantation Shutters
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2006
By Anonymous
from Saint Michaels, MD
" We found doing business with Blinds.com to be easy, efficient, and very courteous. We have nothing but praise for the ordering/follow-up process.We did not find the quality of the product to be as good as we had expected. We have some Hunter Douglas Plantation Shutters in the house that we bought, and were attempting to match them, but didn't want to pay the price of the local decorating store. The "faux wood" shutters that we ordered from you turned out to be the lower line compared to the shutters that we already had. "
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Satinwood Plantation Shutters
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2006
By Anonymous
from Santa Ana, CA
" I am a novice and this was my first time ordering window coverings online so I relied on the associate on the phone to help me. Although I gave her the measurements, the length of the blinds were a inch smaller than stated in my measurements. It was an inside mount so that difference left a rather wide gap. I suppose we could have sent them back to get it re-cut but we needed to get the windows covered so my husband went out and purchased wood to attach to our window sill and then mounted the shutters on the wood in order for the shutters to fit correctly. We did receive spacers with the blinds but did not feel comfortable putting in spacers for that large a gap. So maybe have the operators spend more time helping novices make sure that they ask for the right things. I thought I did but I guess not.Other than that it was a good experience and I will order from Blinds.com again in the future. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Satinwood Plantation Shutters
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2006
By Anonymous
from Mountain View, CA
" Overall, I thought Blinds.com's operation is very good. The website steps through the ordering process very well. And the free samples were useful in real life evaluation of colors and styles. Having installed my plantation shutters, I do have a few comments.* It would have been helpful to also know before hand that I needed #1 and #2 square headed screw driver/tips. I was interested in getting the shutters up fast, but had to interrupt to go out and get the right drivers. * The trim insets are tough to insert. I called to make sure I wasn't going to damage anything by pressing on them too hard. I ended up shaving the edges a little to make them fit better.* With that, my shutters look good and work well. I do have a bunchof plastic tabs, I am not sure what to do with. They look like screwhole covers for a phillips type screw. But none of the screws arecounter-sunk, nor are they phillips. My shutters seem to work fine,so I'm not too concerned. Just thought I would mention them here witheverything else.All in all, I am satisfied with the shutters. Thanks for the service. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Satinwood Plantation Shutters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2006
By Anonymous
from Royal Palm Beach, FL
" There's nothing I would change. The personnel are very courteous, well versed and extremely helpful. So much so, that I just placed another order and their people have responded in an extremely helpful matter. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Satinwood Plantation Shutters
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2006
By Anonymous
" Regarding my recent order:- website was very detailed and easy to place order. Instructions for measurements were clear, as well as "help links" for filling in all the required fields for placing a correct order. - order shipped earlier than stated (good thing), and no problems. - shutters were easy for me to install, and I ended up installing all four of them same day in much less time than expected. - didn't skimp on the hardware. Always frustrating from some products to ship just the bare minimum in terms of screws and such. No problem with the product. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.